オーディション

Preparing an application for a cultural fund for filmmakers here in Greece. The amount of €€€ is absolutely decent but the only reason I decided to stress myself to do this, it’s because two out of the three persons in the judging committee are artists I truly admire and I want them to come across my stuff. Those people are Syllas Tzoumerkas and Eva Stefani. The third person is a producer with an impressive portfolio, I wonder how I didn’t know him in the first place.

Anyway, the thing is I must concentrate and present a body of work. I won’t go into details cause it doesn’t matter. The interesting part is that I switched to my creative mode and I had long time to do so. Quarantine kind of helps because I rested well the previous week and we are still under lockdown, so the time is limited but available and I have nothing better or worse to do. Those moments of focus and concentration are rare, so I find myself somewhat excited about all this.

Eating well, drinking coffee with cardamon seeds and listening to good music, that’s my “working seriously now” recipe, so I can stay focus and bring home the coins. I like filling applications about me, it’s a narcissistic symptom that amazes me every time.

Here is a fan-made poster of a film I thought I didn’t like but stays in my mind like a splinter since I watched it some days ago. Don’t have any idea why, don’t ask.

AUDITION (1999, Miike Takashi) by Peter Strain Strain.

And here is one of the albums I listen while I write or edit. It’s the early work of Alexandros Voulgaris aka The Boy, with the late actress Mary Tsoni who was found dead in her apartment on May 2017.

I really can’t stand The Boy and the only way I can listen to him is through their mutual band, Mary and the Boy. Give it a chance if you feel like it gory, dark and paranoid. Personal favourites in this album (and overall to be honest) are definitely tracks 5 and 7, called Black Terror and Jesus respectively.

Mary & The Boy – Mary and the Boy (2005)

Tsoni’s voice and performance is the epitome of trouble and artistry. When the news of her death got out I was truly depressed and sad; like I lost someone I knew and love. If religions are correct and souls go somewhere, I hope at least Mary went somewhere she likes.